respiratory failure

swollen back, rash, Lymph node fibrosclerosis, Immunodificient Limb, DVT, venous insufficiency, inflammation, inflammatory response, bone fractures

Moderators: jenjay, Cassie, patoco, Birdwatcher, Senior Moderators

respiratory failure

Postby davef » Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:10 pm

i was just wondering if lymph would cause some one to into respiratory failure it happened to me i spent 9 days in a drug induced coma and my drs. dont know what might have caused it so if any body has an answer i would appreciate some feed back thanks dave
davef

Re: respiratory failure

Postby patoco » Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:49 am

Hi Dave

This is a fairly complex question and before I give my response, I just want to be sure that you understand I am not a medical professional nor have I had any formal medical training. I base my opinions on (1) 57 years of experience in living with lymphedema (2) intense research using evidence based science/medicine (3) experience of lymphedema patients from throughout the world and what they themselves have experienced with this condition.

There is now substantial information available in the medical literature regarding lung problems and lymphedema.

One way this can occur is as a result of lymphatic failure in the thoracic duct and/or in the right side drainage system. Both of these are central to where the lymph is dumped back into the vascular system whereby the body removes it from our body.

This, plus lymphatic failure in the abdomen is what occurred to me. As a result, I have serious pleural effusions

see* http://www.lymphedemapeople.com/thesite ... usions.htm

and must drain my lungs every three day, removing aprox. 620 ml from each lung.. In this initial period - the first couple years, I had quite a number of pneumothorax as well. It seems like i was in and out of the hospital due to this just about every month.