New to diagnosis - How do you live with it?

leg pain, leg bleeding, Farrow Wraps, Compression Stockings, cold feet, Reid Sleeve, Restless Leg Syndrome, Leg Cramps, Compression Pumps, Shoes, lower limb lymphedema, secondary leg lymphedema, leg wrapping, Cold Feet, Compression socks, nerve pain, self leg massage, right leg lymphedema

Moderators: Cassie, patoco, Birdwatcher, Senior Moderators

New to diagnosis - How do you live with it?

Postby cate342 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:30 pm

I'm new to this horrible diagnosis of both leg lymphedema. After the initial bandaging to bring down the swelling, how much freedom do you get? I know it depends on severity, but in general do most of you have to wear something all the time? Even nights? & Weekends? Do you ever get time off from wearing compression stuff? Is there any freedom? Any hope of going bare legged for periods of time? Can't believe this..any help is appreciated..Thx.. :( :(
cate342

Postby patoco » Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:03 pm

Hey Cate :)

Super welcome to our family. :!: :!:

Initially, the toughest part would be bringing down the swelling. Once the LE is more managable, you really do have a lot of freedom to do things.

The key to that is to kep it from getting more severe. So wrapping the leg, or wearing a compression garment is important in doing that. Part of my daily ritual includes without exception that daily skin care (application off lotion); and wrapping. I also do self manual massage/lymph node stimulation.

Many people do wrap at night or wear a nightime "sleeve" to help with the swelling. I honestly think that will depend on the severity and type of lymphedema.

But, having said that, I also want to say that until just the last couple years, I have had great freedom in being able to do an incredible array of activities. I gardened, hiked, bowled...all sorts of activities, even with my legs wrapped.