Bug Bite Protection

Diseases, Fungal Infections, treatment, health, Cuts, Scrapes, Blisters, Skin Hygiene, Shingles, Papillomatosis cutis carcinoides, Tea Tree Oil, Psoriasis, Dry Skin, Lymphomatoid Papulosis, Cutis Marmorata, Warts and Verrucas, Bug Bite Protection, laser hair removal, eczema, skin plaque, nodules, psoriasis, nail care, Acroangiodermatitis

Moderators: jenjay, Cassie, patoco, Birdwatcher, Senior Moderators

Bug Bite Protection

Postby patoco » Sat Jun 10, 2006 9:00 pm

Bug Bite Protection

Lymphedema People

http://www.lymphedemapeople.com

Originally posted 04/13/2005

Hi
My name is Sue I've been fighting arm infections for 14 years now since my Breast Cancer in 1991. I've had so many infections that I am now allergic to Penicillin.

My dr. said I need to start wearing protection from Insects bites.
I'm not sure what to use What is safe, not to keen on using Deet.
Afraid it maybe abosored and cause more promblems.
Anyone have any suggestions

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Pat

Hi Sue

Super welcome to our family here!!!!!

With Spring and Summer looming, this is such a good question and applies to all of us. I have a terrible history of chronic infections and am a gardner too...so that is the first thing on my mind when I am outside.

A lot of people aren't fond of using DEET, but I have continued to do so because of its effectiveness (these Georgia mosquitos have a huge appetite)

The only time I wouldn't recommend DEET is on children.

Found this excellent article on EMedicine about insect repellents:

Insect Repellents

http://www.emedicine.com/derm/topic540.htm

Also, this can give some ideas of the different types available besides DEET.

Consumer guide: Insect repellent

http://www.freep.com/money/consumer/guide2_20000702.htm

INSECT REPELLENTS

http://docforgey.com/faq/1.html