Has lymphedema and no one can help me here (Bali, Indonesia)

Welcome to all our family and friends. Patients, families, caregivers, therapists, nurses, doctors, anyone with a concern for and interest in lymphedema is most welcome!!!

Moderators: jenjay, Cassie, patoco, Birdwatcher, Senior Moderators

Has lymphedema and no one can help me here (Bali, Indonesia)

Postby Celestine » Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:36 am

Hi all,

I was googling about lymphedema n came across this website. it made me feel good in a way cos it turns out i'm not the only one with lymphedema.

Mine is the left leg. I got it when i was 11 and now i'm 25. At that time, i got ant bites. the redness n itchiness were all gone but the leg has never been normal since. Until i was 21, i never really paid attention to my swelling leg cos i was busy with school matters. but since i graduated from university, it has become a big problem for me. i've started losing my confidence, i become super self-conscious. i've stopped wearing skirts, pants, anything that might show my swelling leg. Anytime and anywhere i never stop thinking about my swelling leg, and i think it's giving bad effect to my leg.
The swollen leg is around 2-5cm in diameter bigger than the normal one, from the toes until the thigh. the worst part (the most visible one for me) is from my calf to my foot.
I am grateful for still being able to do most activities, it's just that there are times (lots actually) that i wish my left leg were normal.

i feel much more comfortable in cold places (like air-conditioned rooms), which is quite difficult to maintain cos we dont have winter here. My left leg feels much worse if i walk a lot or am in hot or warm places. i was once told to avoid high heels, but even flat shoes dont help me at all, not even flip flops. Traditional massage worsens the condition.

i heard about soaking the leg in warm water and so i tried it and it only worsened my leg, it got bigger n became really red. so i stopped doing that too.